AoFAQ Level 2 National Award in the Safeguarding of Vulnerable Adults

The AoFAQ Level 2 National Award in the Safeguarding of Vulnerable Adults provides learners with the underpinning knowledge to support organisations in their commitment and legal obligation to safeguard vulnerable adults.

The course has been developed using Government guidance including the ‘No Secrets’ 2000 document and is suitable for paid workers, volunteers, supervisors, managers etc. within health and social care. It is also ideal for anyone who requires refreshing their knowledge on safeguarding vulnerable adults. The course is designed to provide a national syllabus, but with the opportunity to add local policies and procedures to allow the course to be tailored to each organisation needs.

Learning Outcomes:

1. Know the principles of safeguarding within a health and social care context.

1.1 State the principles of safeguarding vulnerable adults
1.2 Define the terms “abuse” and ‘significant harm’
1.3 List the risk factors which may contribute to abuse
1.4 State the role of the Disclosure and Barring Service.

2. Know the different types of abuse and the possible indicators of abuse.

2.1 List the different categories of abuse with the possible indicators of abuse

3.1 List the responsibilities of an employee in reporting suspected abuse 

3.2 Define the term ‘whistle blowing’
3.3 State the actions to be taken in the event of a disclosure made to a staff member

Key Facts

Qualification Type: Non QCF

Guided Learning Hours: 8  (this qualification requires a minimum of 6 classroom hrs.)
Where this qualification is undertaken in less than 8 hrs, additional learner instruction may be undertaken through research i.e. Internet, reading or work based activities.

Validity: 3 years

Cost of course £60 each or block of 12 £480 (£40 each) – Price includes VAT